Connect with us

Society

Vogue Magazine Comes Under Criticism For Toning Adesua’s Complexion

Published

on

Vogue Magazine

Thesian, Adesua Etomi-Wellington, might have stroked gold with making the cover of Vogue Magazine.

However, the negative reactions of Nigerians that is taking the shine off the achievement.

Etomi-Wellington covers the April 2019 issue tagged “The Global Issue”. The edition has two covers celebrating 14 global superstars including the thespian.

She took to social media to celebrate her achievement of being one of the first Nigerian thespians to hit the cover of the international Magazine.

The elated thespian took to her Instagram account to tell how she felt to be given such an honour.

She wrote:

“Nigeria to the world.🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬 I’m so thrilled to reveal my cover for @voguemagazine’s April issue celebrating this talented group of women from across the globe.

14 global superstars were chosen: Angelababy (@angelababyct), Doona Bae (@doonabae), #ElizabethDebicki, Golshifteh Farahani (@golfarahani), #LivLisaFries, Eiza Gonzalez (@eizagonzalez), Hera Hilmar (@herahilmar), #ScarlettJohansson, Vanessa Kirby (@vanessa__kirby), Bruna Marquezine (@brunamarquezine), Deepika Padukone (@deepikapadukone), #AlbaRohrwacher and Lea Seydoux (@leaseydoux_genuine). Tap the link in my bio to read the stories and see the full spread.
Photographer: Mikael Jansson / @mikaeljansson

Stylist: Camilla Nickerson
My Makeup: Otito Ibeleme / @t.alamodebeauty Hannah Murray / @hannah_murray1

Hair headpieces: Julien d’Ys for Julien d’Ys / @juliendys

Production: North Six and Day International / @northsixproductions and @dayinternational

Florals: Michael George / @michaelgeorgeflowers

Written by Gaby Wood, Vogue, April 2019.”

However, complains that the fair-complexioned thespian’s complexion was edited to portray her as a much darker person has seen Vogue being frowned at.

 

 

Share
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Facebook

Trending

Copyright © 2019, February13 Media