Connect with us


IGP Names New DIGs***Ibrahim Lamorde, Taiwo Frederick Lakanu Makes List



The Acting Inspector-General of Police, Muhammed Adamu, has appointed six new Deputy Inspectors-General of police.

Four of the new DIGs were promoted from the post of Assistant Inspectors-General of police to their new post, while the remaining two were elevated from Police Commissioners.

The promoted officers include Usman Tilli Abubakar, Abdulmaji Ali,  and Taiwo Frederick Lakanu. Others are Godwin Nwobodo, Ogbizi Michael and Ibrahim Lamorde.

The new DiGs were named on Monday morning, police sources have said. Their respective portfolios would be announced later on Monday by the Police Service Commission.

This development comes a day after Mr. Adamu retired seven DIGs who were his senior in order to pave way for the constitution of a new management team with whom he could work comfortably.


The retired officers are Maigari Dikko, Habila Joshak, Emmanuel Inyang, Agboola Oshodi-Glover, Mohammed Katsina, Sani Mohammed, and Peace Ibekwe-Abdallah.

The seven DIGs and eight assistant inspectors-general were identified as having joined the police before Mr. Adamu, who was appointed on January 15 after the former IG Ibrahim Idris was retired as he attained 60 years.

The Police Service Commission, which has just concluded its plenary meeting, is expected to officially announce the names of the DIGs later today.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Polaris Bank AD




Copyright © 2024, February13 Media