Connect with us


Saidi Balogun, Patience Ozokwor And Harrysong For Independent Awards



Marriage Talks

The INDEPENDENT Newspapers Limited awards is set to take place on Saturday, February 17, 2018 at the Eko Hotel and Suites at 7pm.


In keeping with its avowed commitment to promoting the common good and rewarding excellence in the society, the Independent Newspapers Limited, publishers of the Daily INDEPENDENT, Saturday INDEPENDENT and Sunday INDEPENDENT has nominated Arthur Ifeanyi Okowa, Executive Governor of Delta State as the INDEPENDENT 2017 Man of the Year.

Image result for Independet Newspaper award

Asides other governors billed to attend, Governors Akinwunmi Ambode of Lagos and Nyesom Wike of Rivers State were nominated as Governor and Political Icon of the year respectively.


For his sterling role in weathering the storm of the killer herdsmen in his state recently, Samuel Ortom of Benue was nominated and would be decorated as The Governor of the Year on Security, while David Umahi of Ebonyi State emerged Governor of the Year in  Agriculture.


Governor Aminu Waziri Tambuwal of Sokoto State was equally nominated as the 2017 Grassroots Governor of the Year, while the Outstanding Deputy Governor of the Year goes to Otunba Titilayo Tomori of Osun State.

Image result for saidi balogun

The flagship newspaper also nominated Ike Ekweremadu, Senate Vice President, and Mudashiru Obasa, Speaker Lagos State House of Assembly as the Outstanding Legislator of the Year (National) and Outstanding Legislator of the Year (State) respectively. Ahmed Mohammed Makarfi, former factional Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) was named the Party Leader of the Year.


Similarly, Oba Adeyeye Enitan Ogunwusi, the Ooni of Ife was nominated as the Bridge Builder In Leadership in 2017.


Foremost industrialist, Alhaji Rasak Okoya was not left out, and he has been nominated for Life Achievement Award, while Wale Babalakin, Chairman Bi-Courtney Aviation Services Limited, clinched the Most Outstanding Aviation Terminal Operator of the Year.


The Federal Inland Revenue Service and the Lagos State Traffic Management Agency (LASTMA) emerged nominees as the Federal Agency of the Year and Most Outstanding State Agency of the Year respectively


Nomination as the Most Outstanding Telecommunications Company of the Year goes to Globacom Limited.


The highlight of this year’s awards is the fact that entertainers and those who dazzle on the silver screen and dominate the airwaves are not left out.


For the artiste of the year, Alterplate CEO, Harry Song was nominated as Musician of the Year, while Saidi Balogun and Patience Ozokwor emerged Actor and Actress nominees of the Year respectively.


These three outstanding entertainers and personalities have all expressed their joy at the recognition from INDEPENDENT Newspapers.

Related image

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Polaris Bank AD




Copyright © 2024, February13 Media