Connect with us


CJN Swears In Eight New Justices Of The Supreme Court



Eight new justices have been sworn into the Supreme  Court by the Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Justice Tanko Muhammad.

With the new eight justices, the number of Justices of the court rises from 12 to 20.

The swearing-in ceremony held on Friday, November 6, at the Supreme Court in Abuja, the Federal Capital Territory.

The justices who were recently elevated from the Court of Appeal bench comprise of seven men and one woman, as well as five appointees from the North and three from the South. They are Lawal Garba (North West), Helen Ogunwumiju (South West), Abdu Aboki (North West), and Mohammed Saulawa (North West).

Others are Adamu Jauro (North East), Samuel Oseji (Souty South), Tijani Abubakar (North East), and Emmanuel Agim (South South).

Justice Muhammad who warned the newly appointed justices of the apex court to shun extraneous considerations while discharging their duties added that he is confident that the new justices would remain morally upright as judicial officers with high integrity.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Polaris Bank AD




Copyright © 2024, February13 Media