Connect with us


2023 Election: APC Governors Take Crucial Decision On Buni, Committee Members




Governors on the platform of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) have passed a vote of confidence on the leadership of Mai Mala Buni, the chairman of the Caretaker/Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee (CECPC).

The vote of confidence was passed by the governors on Wednesday, June 17.

Led by Governor Abubakar Atiku Bagudu of Kebbi State,  the governors also hailed Buni’s committee members for their laudable efforts in rebuilding the ruling party.

The APC governors said Buni’s leadership had made the ruling party more stable than it was. According to the Progressive Governors Forum, the decision was crucial to inspire the interim leadership to continue in its drive to reshape and take the APC to new heights.

Governor Atiku noted that the CECPC has stabilised the party by supervising the national membership registration.

The governors revealed that President Muhammadu Buhari will decide the date for the national convention.

Speaking Bagudu said: “There is a proposal before Mr. President and once he approves it, the National Caretaker Committee will announce the date.”

Meanwhile, Governor Buni has been called to roll out the timetable for the congresses that would culminate in the party’s national convention.

The call was made by Salihu Lukman, the director-general of the PGF. Lukman also described as “needless” the extension of the ongoing membership registration, revalidation, and update register exercise.

Lukman urged the caretaker committee not to contemplate any tenure elongation. The PGF boss, in a statement titled: “APC’s litmus tests” in Abuja on Monday, April 5, lamented that some of the challenges in the party which led to the dissolution of the former National Working Committee (NWC) led by Comrade Adams Oshiomole were yet to be addressed by the caretaker committee.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Polaris Bank AD




Copyright © 2024, February13 Media