Connect with us


Yoruba Nation: Police Releases 47 Agitators




At least 47 Yoruba Nation agitators have been released by the Nigeria police.

Recall that 48 agitators were arrested during the Saturday, July 3 rally in Lagos State.

Maxwell Adeleye, the spokesperson for Ilana Omo Oodua, a Yoruba self-determination group, made the announcement in a statement released on Tuesday, July 27.

Adeleye said that the men were released after meeting their bail conditions.


Those granted bail include Olasunkanmi Tanimola; Kabiru Lawanson; Chinemerem Emmanuel; RasakiMusibau; Lukman Olalade; Olasanmi Oladipupo; Bashiru Shittu; Taofeek Abdusalam; Olamilekan Abata; Abdullahi Sikiru; Tosin Adeleye; and Babatunde Lawal.

47 Yoruba nation agitators released from police custody

Read the statement below:

“This is to inform the general public that 47 out of the  48 protesters arrested by the Nigerian Police during the Yoruba Nation Rally held July 3rd, 2021 have been released from detention after meeting their bail conditions.


“One of the agitators, Tajudeen Bakare is still in custody following a murder charge filed against him by the police.


“Bakare was charged for the murder of Jumoke Oyeleke, a 25-year-old trader who was hit by a stray bullet when the police were dispersing the agitators during the rally. The police said Mr Bakare was in possession of a Beretta pistol and two live ammunition and “unlawfully killed” the trader.


The agitator was denied bail given the gravity of the charges levelled against him.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Copyright © 2019, February13 Media