Connect with us


List Of 100 Passengers Restricted From Traveling For Six Month



Religious Gathering

The Federal Government of Nigeria has issued a six-month travel ban on 100 passengers.

The ban was imposed on the passengers for failing to undergo the compulsory COVID-19 test after their return to Nigeria.

Typically, the post-arrival test is expected to be done at the end of the mandatory 7-day self-isolation period.

The Presidential Task Force on COVID-19 released a list containing the defaulters’ passport numbers, though their names were not mentioned.

A tweet posted on its official Twitter handle on Saturday, January 2, read: “The PTF has placed travel restrictions on the first 100 passengers for non-compliance to the mandatory Day 7 post-arrival COVID-19 test.”

With this, affected persons will be restricted from leaving Nigeria.

The PTF said that the affected persons have been contacted and confirmed that they failed to do the post-arrival test.

A top source in PT disclosed that the list of the affected Nigerians had “been sent to the Nigerian Immigration Service (NIS) and other security agencies to stop them from travelling out.”

According to the source, any further defiance may lead to their passports being cancelled.

In an earlier report, the federal government rolled out new travel rules for passengers coming in from South Africa and the United Kingdom which takes effect from Monday, December 28.

This was as a result of the discovery of a new variant of COVID-19 in these countries.

During a press briefing in Abuja on Thursday, December 24, the national coordinator of the Presidential Task Force (PTF), Dr Sani Aliyu, said all passengers coming from both countries must use the Nigerian international travel portal to register.



Polaris Bank AD




Copyright © 2024, February13 Media