Connect with us


How INEC Declared Gboyega Oyetola Osun State Governor Elect



Osun State

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), has declared Gboyega Oyetola, the  All Progressive Congress (APC) candidate in the Osun rerun election  winner of the poll.

Osun Rerun: APC’s Oyetola Wins

The APC candidate polled 1,160 votes which increased his tally from the first ballot at 254,345 votes to take his total tally to 255,505, while the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Ademola Adeleke polled 325 votes which increased his initial tally of 254,698 to 255,023.

Oyetola was declared victorious after the results of the rerun election which held in  seven units across four local governments due to irregularities in the initial poll of Saturday, September 22, were announced.

The INEC Returning Officer, Joseph Afuwape declared Oyetola winner at exactly 1:23 am.

Announcing the victor, Afuwape said: “Oyetola, having satisfied the requirement of the law, having scored the highest number of votes, is hereby declared the winner and he is returned elected”.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Copyright © 2019, February13 Media