Connect with us


House Of Representatives: PDP Lawmakers Defect To APC




At least two members of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the House of Representatives have defected to the  All Progressives Congress (APC).

During plenary on Wednesday, October 7, the speaker of the house, Femi Gbajabiamila, read separate letters from Ephraim Nwuzi, who is representing Etche/Omuma federal constituency in Rivers state, and David Abel representing Gashaka/Kurmi/Sardauna federal constituency in Taraba state.

The letter announced their defections to the ruling APC.

Reacting to the lawmakers’ defection, the deputy minority leader, Toby Okechukwu; the minority leader, Ndudi Elumelu; and leader of the PDP caucus, Kingsley Chinda, separately raised constitutional points of order.

They asked Gbajabiamila to declare their seats vacant as there were no crises in the PDP in the defectors’ respective states.

Elumelu said: “The member whose letter has just be read is from Rivers state and I am aware that there is no crisis in the PDP in Rivers state. As a result of that, we are demanding that the seat be declared vacant.”

In his reaction, Okechukwu said: “This country is based on law and due process. It is clear that our colleagues who wrote to defect are simply quoting the charisma of the speaker.

“The law says there must be a crack in the party on whose platform the member was elected and in the absence of that, such a member should lose his seat. The Speaker must obey the constitution and ask those defecting to vacate their seat.”

However, Gbajabiamila, described leaders of the opposition as hypocrites, recalling that as minority leader in the previous assemblies he also protested against defections to the PDP but his arguments were dismissed. He noted that the PDP failed to lay the foundation of sanctioning illegal defections while in power, adding that, “Like you used to tell me, your points are noted. Any more defections?”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Polaris Bank AD




Copyright © 2024, February13 Media