Connect with us


Edo State House Of Assembly Members Defect TO PDP




At least seven All Progressive Congress (APC) members of the Edo State House of Assembly have defected to the ruling People’s Democratic Party (PDP).

Those who defected includes the Speaker of Edo State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Frank Abumere Okiye, Hon. Asoro Osadebamwen Roland, Hon. Aluebhosele Ephraim; Hon. Ojiezele Osezua Sunday; Hon. Okhuarobor Henry, Hon. Okoduwa Emma and Hon. Marcus Onobun.

The defection formally took place on Tuesday, October 6. Okiye who announced the defection at plenary session added that he had received letters from the six members including himself, expressing their desires to decamp to the ruling party in the state so as to identify with the developmental strides of Governor Godwin Obaseki.

The speaker blamed the sharp divisions and factions in the Edo state chapter of the APC as one of the reasons they decided to cross to PDP.

According to him, the move is to enable them to perform their duties effectively as representative of their constituencies.

Governor Obaseki now has 7 members of the state House of Assembly in his party.

It would be recalled that all the 24-member house were elected on the platform of the APC. However, crisis ensued when only nine members presented themselves for inauguration on June 17, 2019, when Governor Obaseki issued the proclamation for the house to convey. The remaining 14 members-elect in August were inaugurated at a private residence in the state capital, Benin by a retired civil servant.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Polaris Bank AD




Copyright © 2024, February13 Media